Poland 2019: Nigeria to know opponents on Friday

Poland 2019: Nigeria to know opponents on Friday

- in World Sports

Nigeria will on Friday, know the opponents it will face at the 2019 FIFA U-20 World Cup, in Poland.

The Flying Eagles, who finished fourth at the just concluded CAF U-20 Nations Cup, after losing to South Africa in the third place playoff, will be one of the four African countries that will compete for honours at the tournament. The other three are, newly crowned continental champions, Mali, Senegal and South Africa.

The biennial competition will be staged in six Polish cities; in Lodz, Bielsko-Biala, Bydgoszcz, Gdynia, Lublin and Tychy from 23 May to 15 June 2019.

The Flying Eagles who have seven U-20 AFCON titles failed to qualify for the 2017 edition of the competition, losing to minnows Sudan in the qualifiers.

Aigbogun and his charges will look to become the second African country to win the FIFA U-20 World Cup after Ghana who won it in 2009.

Nigeria’s Flying Eagles has however featured twice in the final losing 2-0 to Portugal in 1989 and 2-1 to a Lionel Messi inspired Argentina in 2005.

Asia will be represented at the 2019 FIFA U-20 World Cup by Japan, Korea Republic, Qatar and Saudi Arabia in the tournament, while CONCACAF have four representatives; Honduras, Mexico, Panama and USA.

France, Italy, Norway, Portugal, Ukraine and hosts Poland will fly Europe’s flag in the tournament, while Oceania have New Zealand and Tahiti as their torch bearers.

Conmebol will be represented by Argentina, Colombia and Ecuador.

Complete Sports

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may also like

Man. City wins 2018/2019 Premier League

Manchester City retained the Premier League title after